Portland Hires a New Coach

Pilots hired Shantay Legans, who had a pretty good run at Easter Washington. If he brings his two best players, who are in the portal, the Pilots will be much better. The Big Sky has exported some decent coaches (Wayne Tinkle just a few years removed from Montana). Hope things pick up in Portland, it would be good for the league.

1 Like

Boy, that’s a hard one to understand. Seems like legans could have done better. Oh well.

I’ll agree w/ 'noob on this one, Legans is a young coach, and just made the tourney and fared well vs. Kansas, you’d think there’d be some other decent options for him.
As a Spokane resident I follow EWU a bit (located in Cheney…20 mins from Spokane). Legans has done well at EWU the past 4 seasons and was a longtime assistant under Jim Hayford who jumped to Seattle U. The program has been solid and usually top 1/3 of the Big Sky w/ several 20 win seasons and a couple of tourney appearances.
Portland is a tough place to win…small school, limited resources and they have to compete with the PAC-12 schools and Gonzaga for PacificNW talent. I suspect it was a bit about $$$. The EWU athletic department is deeply in the red and historically hasn’t been able to pay their coaches well…I think Hayford was making less than $200k when he left 4 years ago.

As jackjim noted, several of EWU’s top players already entered the transfer portal including the Grove brothers who combined to put up 50-somehting pts vs. Kansas…older brother Tanner should be grad transfer eligible and was the Big Sky POY. Another good EWU player who entered the portal is Jacob Davison…an athletic and talented 6-4 guard, was All-League last year, but suffered through some injuries this season. Would be a big bonus for Legans if any of these guys follow him to Portland.

2 Likes